About the BDNG

The British Dermatological Nursing Group (BDNG) was established in 1989 to offer an independent speciality group of nurses and healthcare professionals with an interest in dermatology.

Aims of the BDNG

The aims of the BDNG are to:

  • Promote the development of the highest standard of care for the patient receiving dermatological care;
  • Promote the development and recognition of the nurse’s role in dermatology, for the benefit of the patient;
  • Promote and support education of nurses for their role in dermatology;
  • Promote and support research into all aspects of dermatology nursing and dermatological nursing care;
  • Provide a source of expertise for nurses facing clinical and managerial challenges in the field of dermatology nursing;
  • Provide a forum for the dissemination of developments and knowledge in the field of dermatology nursing.


Membership of the group is open to healthcare professionals only.

Registered nurses from the UK and Ireland working in dermatology may apply for Ordinary Membership.

All other health care professionals and overseas nurses may apply for Associate Membership.

Associate members are unable to vote on changes to the BDNG Constitution.
Read more about BDNG Membership

Membership Benefits

  • A copy of the journal Dermatological Nursing quarterly
  • Practice Development Awards
  • Travel¬†awards
  • Reduced registration fee at the BDNG Annual Conference
  • Reduced registration fee at BDNG Regional Meetings
  • Access to member’s only section of website
  • Regular email alerts


Annual Subscription is only £20

  • Committee
    President Rebecca Penzer-Hick
    President Elect Lisa McGovern
    Trustee Alberto Barea
    Trustee Sarah Copperwheat
    Trustee Lucy Moorhead
    Trustee Lynne Skrine
    Trustee Melanie Sutherland
    Journal Clinical Editor Polly Buchanan
    Editorial Board Chair Jackie Tomlinson
  • Sub Groups
    Aesthetics Adeyinka Aroyewun
    Biologics Jenny Carolan and Lisa McGovern
    Community Dermatology Sara Burr
    Contact Dermatitis Liza Benfield
    Dermoscopy Jemma Coleman
    Non Medical Prescribing Clive Tubbs
    Paediatrics Karen Pett
    Photodermatology Sarah Copperwheat
    Psychodermatology Barbara Page, MBE
    Skin Cancer Vacant
    Skin Surgery Di Rolland
  • Ambassadors
    Valerie Anderson
    Yinka Aroyewun
    Rosanna Degala-Nguyen
    Felicite Ngoumbi
  • Staff
    CEO Susan Maguire
    Education and Development Lead Teena Mackenzie
    Educational Nurse Jodie Newman
    Administrator and Events Co-ordinator Amanda Elliott